Our teachers know their students and work with them to help them realise their potential as learners. Our focus on authentic learning and authentic assessment ensures that we challenge our students to grow in their learning and achieve their personal best.

Throughout our community of Sydney Catholic schools, we have shown high performance of our students in measures such as NAPLAN and the HSC.

Holy Innocents Catholic Primary School Mortlake learning and achievementHoly Innocents’  Catholic Primary School Croydon is registered by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and is subject to its curriculum requirements. NESA sets and monitors quality teaching, learning, assessment and school standards. It is also responsible for developing Kindergarten to Year 12 syllabuses for NSW schools. 

NESA requirements include an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of syllabuses in six Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) – History and Geography
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Creative Arts

The learning of a language is also a priority at Holy Innocents’ Catholic Primary School Croydon. Students from Kindergarten to Year 6 learn Mandarin.

The Primary Religious Education Curriculum has been developed with a focus on the ways young children learn. In particular, the storytelling approach of ‘Godly Play and The Catechesis of the Good Shepherd’ nurtures the natural capacity of young children for curiosity, imagination and wonder. Students are provided with the opportunity to engage with the stories of the faith through wondering, reflecting and exploring.

Throughout their primary years, children are invited to use and interpret Sacred Scripture, to understand more fully their role in the mission of the Church, discover the beauty of God’s creation, participate in Prayer, Liturgy and the Sacraments, and to critically think and reflect using Catholic moral and social teaching. Above all else, this is the time when young people come to know how much God loves them, and when they are drawn into a love of God and others.

Each Key Learning Area (KLA)  includes syllabuses that are inclusive of the learning needs of all students.

Syllabuses identify:

  • the knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes students are expected to develop at each stage
  • outcomes and content that describe what students are expected to know and do cross-curriculum priorities, general capabilities and other important learning for all students.